Senator Ben Cardin (D-MD) announced the addition of 16 cosponsors to SJ Res 6, the bipartisan Senate bill to remove the time limit on the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) that he co-leads with Senator Lisa Murkowski (AK). Included in those joining today: Senator Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Minority Leader of the Senate, and Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), ranking member of the Senate Judiciary Committee. It was announced earlier this week that Virginia Senators Tim Kaine and Mark Warner were added as cosponsors to the bill. It is anticipated that Virginia will vote to ratify the Equal Rights Amendment and become the final, 38th state required for full ratification. Senators Angus King (I-ME) and Susan Collins (R-ME) have long been cosponsors of SJ Res 6.

As you know, on November 13th the House Judiciary Committee voted 21-11 in favor of reporting Rep Jackie Speier's bill HJ Res 79 to the House for a floor vote. Speaker Nancy Pelosi is expected to schedule a vote on HJ Res 79, which has a decisive 223 co-sponsors and is expected to pass easily.

Here is the Coalition's statement:

The ERA Coalition is pleased to see so many U.S. Senators who recognize that it is time to give equality to the girls and women of this country. We now call on House Speaker Pelosi to schedule a full floor vote in the House as soon as possible. This Senate action, the expected ratification vote in Virginia, and last week's Judiciary vote on HJ Res 79 to remove the time limit highlight the groundswell in favor of ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment. Our thanks to Senators Cardin and Murkowski for their strong leadership.

Read the full press release from Senator Cardin below.

Read the ERA Coalition's Release on the House Judiciary Vote.

We will keep you posted on any developments. Thank you for your hard work and support!

In solidarity,

Carol Jenkins
Co-President and CEO
ERA Coalition


November 22, 2019

CONTACT: Sue Walitsky (Cardin) 202-224-4524

Cardin Announces New Cosponsors to Bipartisan ERA Resolution 

As Virginia nears ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment, new cosponsors added to Senate resolution that would remove the deadline for ratification

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Ben Cardin (D-Md.) announced Friday the addition of 16 cosponsors for the bipartisan resolution to remove the deadline for the Equal Rights Amendment (S.J.Res.6). Thirty-seven states, of the 38 needed, have already ratified the amendment, which was first proposed in 1972. Earlier this month, the House Judiciary Committee marked up and reported favorably companion legislation, H.J.Res.79. The full House could consider the resolution as early as December.

“There should never be a deadline on equality. This bipartisan legislation should resolve any ambiguity about states’ ability to ratify the ERA,” said Senator Cardin. “I thank my colleagues for joining this final push toward ratification and look forward to having more senators join this bipartisan effort soon.”

The following senators join Senators Cardin, Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Susan Collins (R-Maine) and Angus King (I-Maine) as cosponsors of S. Res. 6:

Senator Mark Warner (D-Va.)

Senator Tim Kaine (Both D-Va.)

Senator Charles Schumer (D-N.Y.)

Senator Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.)

Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.)

Senator Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.)

Senator Richard Durbin (D-Ill.)

Senator Ed Markey (D-Mass.)

Senator Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.)

Senator Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.)

Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.)

Senator Tom Udall (D-N.M.)

Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.)

Senator Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.)

Senator Ron Wyden (D-Ore.)

Senator Jack Reed (D-R.I.)

Article V of the Constitution contains no time limits for ratification of amendments, and the states finally ratified the Twenty-Seventh Amendment in 1992 regarding Congressional pay raises more than 200 years after Congress proposed it in 1789 as part of the original Bill of Rights. The ERA time limit was contained in a joint resolution - not the actual text of the amendment - and Congress has already once voted to extend the ERA ratification deadline.

Illinois was the last state to ratify the ERA in May 2018. Nevada ratified the ERA in March 2017. Only one more state is needed among: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Utah, or Virginia. Virginia’s legislature is expected to take up the measure in January 2020.

Thank you for your support.

Read More

ERA Coalition was on MSNBC's Morning Joe!

February 08, 2024

The ERA is hitting the cat walk…sort of

January 29, 2024

equal pay today

Supporting the Equal Pay Today mission

January 16, 2024