ERA Coalition Board Members

Jessica Neuwirth is the President and Director of the newly formed ERA Coalition/Fund for Women’s Equality, and author of Equal Means Equal, Why the Time for the ERA is Now.  She is also the Director of Donor Direct Action, and a founder of Equality Now. Jessica hasworked for Amnesty International and for the United Nations. As Special Advisor on Sexual Violence to the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights in 2010, she organized the UN high-level panel on reparations for victims of sexual violence in the DR Congo.

Maria T. Vullo is Chair/Secretary and co-founder of the ERA Coalition/Fund for Women’s Equality. She is a Partner at Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP. Maria also has been active in non-profit organizations as a Board member of the New York Women's Equality Coalition, Inc., the National Organization of Italian-American Women, Common Cause/New York and the Fund for Modern Courts. She previously served as Chair of the Board of NARAL Pro-Choice America and as a Board member of Sanctuary for Families.

Liz Young is Treasurer and co-founder of the ERA Coalition/Fund for Women’s Equality. She is the Executive Vice President of Corporate Communications for Sony Music Entertainment, and responsible for corporate giving and major events. She previously worked as Executive Vice President of Corporate Communications for Bertelsmann, Inc, and represented the Bertelsmann Foundation in the United States. As Vice- President of Mazda North America, Liz was the founder of the Mazda Foundation USA. She was also a registered lobbyist for US Japan trade.

Lauren Embrey is president and philanthropic visionary of the Embrey Family Foundation and CEO of Embrey Interests, Ltd. She serves on many boards, including the AT&T Performing Arts Center and Women Moving Millions. Embrey's awards for her philanthropic work include the Women Who Give Hope Award from Chiapas International in 2010, Women’s eNews’ 21 Leaders for the 21st Century in 2011, Ms. Foundation’s Women of Vision Award for Philanthropy in 2013, She Should Run’s Wendy Award in 2014 and Nomi Network’s Abolitionist Award in 2016

Carol Jenkins is an award-winning writer, producer and media consultant. She is a sought-after speaker and writer on issues relating to the media, specifically the participation of women and people of color; women’s participation in the political and economic structures in the US; and the health of women in developing countries, particularly on the African continent. She was founding president of The Women’s Media Center, a national non-profit and serves as chair of AMREF USA, an African health organization.

Diana Revson is a philanthropist and supporter of the arts and education. She is a Board Member at the Academy for Teachers and at the Gordon Parks Foundation. She previously served as the Director of External Affairs for The Gordon Parks Foundation and the Meserve Kunhardt Foundation. She was also a fashion editor at Videofashion News, was the Director of Public Relations at Henri Bendel and was a Fashion Editor at L’Officiel de la Mode.

Gloria Steinem is a writer, lecturer, political activist, and feminist organizer. She travels in this and other countries as an organizer and lecturer and is a frequent media spokeswoman on issues of equality. Among the many organizations she co-founded are the Women’s Action Alliance, the National Women’s Political Caucus, the Women’s Media Center, Voters for Choice and Choice USA. She was the founding president of the Ms. Foundation for Women. She also co- founded Ms. magazine and helped to found New York magazine.

Marcy Syms served as a director of Syms Corp., a chain of retail clothing stores, from 1983, when she was named President and COO, until 2012. Ms. Syms became CEO of Syms Corp. in 1998 and was named Chair in 2010. Ms. Syms is also a founding member of the Board of Directors of the Syms School of Business at Yeshiva University. Currently, Ms. Syms serves as President of the Sy Syms Foundation and Founder and President of the TPD Group LLC, a multi- generational succession planning company.

Teresa C. Younger is the President and CEO of the Ms. Foundation for Women. She has been on the frontlines of some of the most important battles for women’s health, safety and economic justice. A noted speaker, advocate and activist, she has been recognized by many organizations for her commitment to civil rights. Younger serves on several boards — including the Universal Health Care Foundation of Connecticut and Women’s Campaign School at Yale University — and previously served on the board of the National Association of Commissions for Women.

ERA Coalition Staff

Bettina Hager is the DC Director of the ERA Coalition and Fund for Women’s Equality. She also serves as the co-chair of the Equal Rights Amendment Task Force of the National Council of Women’s Organizations. Bettina has conducted focused lobby training workshops on the issue of Constitutional equality and oversaw the creation of a widely used ERA advocacy packet with information on how to contact elected officials, reach out to media and encourage constituency outreach. Bettina organized and moderated a Senate briefing on the three-state ratification strategy legislation sponsored by Sen. Cardin in April, 2014. She participated in a House briefing on the ERA, March, 2013, and was a speaker on grassroots organizing for the ERA at the ERA conference, Roger Williams University, Nov., 2013. Bettina previously worked as Programs Director and Interim Executive Director at the National Women’s Political Caucus (NWPC), advocating for the necessity of women’s political participation at all levels of government. Bettina graduated from St. Olaf College with a degree in Biology and concentration in Women’s Studies.

ERA Advisory Council

Melanie Campbell

Minna Elias

Christine Lahti

Marla Schaefer

Wendy Davis

Gloria Feldt

Suzanne Lerner

Taylor Schilling

Donna Deitch

Agnes Gund

Judy Lotas

Jamia Wilson

Lindy Dekoven

Jane Fonda

Jane Levikow

Glennda Testone

Abigail Disney

Sarah Jones

Catharine MacKinnon

Marie Wilson

Tiffany Dufu

Linda Kaplan Thaler

Laura Neuwirth